” … but window shopping was not part of the deal.”

By Ace Alvarez

The following was inspired by the fatherly insights of my brother, Ramy Alvarez:

I asked my Brother, Ramy Alvarez, “… but there’s nothing wrong with window shopping?”

He said, “Yes, there’s nothing wrong with it, but window shopping was not part of the deal.”

Ramy S. Alvarez (Click image to enlarge)

My query — and my brother Ramy’s comment , emanated from a story he was telling me when I was 20 about my two nieces, Rose and Rlyn, who asked his permission back in ’73 if the two could go and watch a movie in Cubao (in Quezon City, The Philippines).

(Courtesy: Photobucket/Click image to enlarge)

(Courtesy: Photobucket/Click image to enlarge)

He gave them his nod.

After the movie, Rose and Rlyn, went window shopping around the Araneta Commercial Center in Cubao.

When the two got home early evening that day, they told their dad, “We’re sorry, Dad. We owe you an apology.”

“Why?” What for?” their dad asked.

The two girls explained that after watching a movie, they went window shopping.

“… but there’s nothing wrong with window shopping?” I interrupted my brother’s story.

He replied in all his fatherly wisdom, “Yes, there’s nothing wrong with it, but window shopping was not part of the deal.”

***

To connect with me on Facebook, PRESS HERE.

Back to Top

Leave a comment